This title contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Saltzburg’s casebook on Criminal Procedure. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.  Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.

After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. The series is trusted for its expert summary of the principal cases in your casebook. Its proven reliability makes Casenote Legal Briefs the most popular case brief series available. With more than 100 titles keyed to the current editions of major casebooks, you know you can find the help you need. The brief for each case saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, and important points of the holding and decision. Quicknotes are short definitions of the legal terms used at the end of each brief. Use the Glossary in the end of your text to define common Latin legal terms. Such an overview, combined with case analysis, helps broaden your understanding and supports you in classroom discussion. Each title is keyed to the current edition of a specific casebook; it s your trusted guide to the text throughout the semester. The brief for each principal case in the casebook saves you time and helps you retain important issues. Each brief has a succinct statement of the rule of law/black letter law, description of the facts, important points of the holding and decision, and concurrences and dissents included in the casebook excerpt. This overview is combined with a short analysis: all to help you broaden your understanding and support you in classroom discussion. Quicknotes at end of each brief give you short definitions of the legal terms used. A handy Glossary of common Latin words and phrases is included in every Casenote. Detailed instruction on how to brief a case is provided for you. A free Quick Course Outline accompanies all Casenote Legal Briefs in these course areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts.

This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon the formal part of the criminal process, covers counsel, bail, the charging decision, preliminary hearing and grand jury review, the prosecution's location and scope, speedy trial, pleading and discovery, guilty pleas, jury trial, pretrial publicity, the trial, double jeopardy, sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discussed the right to counsel. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. The coverage is comprehensive, including federal and state statutes and court rules and descriptions of practice as well as constitutional limitations, with an emphasis upon those issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.

The topics covered in this criminal procedure outline are the exclusionary rule, arrests and other detentions, search and seizure, privilege against self-incrimination, confessions, and preliminary hearing. Discusses bail, indictment, speedy trial, competency to stand trial, government's obligation to disclose information, right to jury trial, and right to counsel. Also includes right to confront witnesses, burden of proof, insanity, entrapment, guilty pleas, sentencing, death penalty, ex post facto issues, appeal, habeas corpus, juvenile offenders, prisoners' rights, and double jeopardy.

Basic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course with emphasis on the 4th, 5th and 6th Amendment rules that govern federal and state law enforcement and courts. This Black Letter is comprehensive in its coverage. It examines a wide range of legal doctrines, including:The Incorporation DoctrineExceptions to the Warrant requirementRemedies for 4th Amendment violationsThe Privilege Against Self-IncriminationConfessionsMirandaMassiahConstitutional Limits on Identification EvidenceThe Right to CounselEffective Assistance of Counseland the Right to Counsel.Major Supreme Court cases are thoroughly analyzed, including an examination of separate opinions by Supreme Court Justices. Basic Criminal Procedure also provides sample examination questions and answers, which have been updated to conform to recent decisions by the Court.Basic Criminal Procedure also provides a glossary of important terms that law students need to understand as they examine judicial decisions. It also contains a Capsule Summary which serves as a short outline of the major doctrines covered at length in the text.

This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!

Unlike casebooks, this title provides rich narrative detail of the human stories -- and the social, political, and legal contexts -- of notable Supreme Court cases on criminal justice. It includes details not available elsewhere, and offers the insights of respected scholars who are experts on the particular cases and issues they address. This book will greatly enhance the teaching both of police practices (a.k.a "Cops and Robbers") and of criminal adjudication (a.k.a "Bail to Jail").

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

A big-picture view that looks at how all of the essential elements of a criminal investigation fit together as part of a coherent framework of legal theory and practice. A rich pedagogy features graphics, Sidebars, and Frequently Asked Questions, as well as other learning aids, to guide comprehension and reinforce learning. Features: basic coverage of the main themes of Investigative Criminal Procedure that focuses on what matters and why straightforward, lucid, and informal writing style dynamic pedagogy that supports learning and facilitates use: Overviews that briefly introduce and position the topic of each chapter within the context of the course, to clearly convey to students what the topic is about and why it matters FAQs, or frequently asked questions, that address common mistakes and misconceptions Sidebars that offer additional insight and background information, or highlight important or illustrative cases Tables and Flowcharts that illustrate concepts Chapter summaries and bolded key terms Connections--brief sections at the end of each chapter that connect the material just covered to key points in other chapters.

Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Includes clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Includes clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

The In Other Words video series covers fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner.

This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

This nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

This audio lecture introduces the Fourth Amendment and discusses retroactivity, harmless error, and incorporation. It includes an issue checklist and examines the Katz search doctrine. It analyzes various surveillance and search methods and covers the exclusionary rule, entrapment, interrogations, pretrial procedures, trial, and the right to counsel.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

With Law School Legends, you’ll get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject to you in one simple, dynamic lecture. The Law School Legends make even the most difficult concepts crystal clear. You’ll understand the big picture, and how all the concepts fit together. In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns. Includes multiple choice, short answer and essay question examples.