LibGuides: Administrative Law Research: News & Current Awareness Sources

General News Sources

New York Times - Digital Access Subscription This link opens in a new window As of January 5, 2022, American University will be expanding access to The New York Times to all current faculty, students, and staff. Due to this change, your current New York Times digital access will stop on January 5, 2022, and you will need to reactivate your account. If you have an existing paid NYT subscription linked to your AU email address, you must cancel it before linking your account to the library's subscription by contacting Customer Care by email at customercare@nytimes.com, calling 800-591-9233, or chat at the NYT site. Please follow the instructions below to continue your access: 1. Log out of nytimes.com on all your devices. 2. Go to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/american-university-washington-dc/ (or click on the link above) ***Please note: you are brought to a page that has both on-campus and off-campus login information. The on-campus link is prominent at the top of the page. To use the off-campus logon, you need to scroll down the Go button, which is below the fold. Additionally, you will need to use name@american.edu to login, not name@wcl.american.edu. *** 3. Click Already have an account? Log in here. 4. Input your existing New York Times login credentials 5. Select your status as "student" (enter graduation date) or faculty/staff. 6. Click Login and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com Then, if you havent already done so, download New York Times apps on your smartphone and tablet. By reactivating your account, you reaffirm your consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. If you have trouble activating or accessing your new account, you may send email along with a screenshot of the error page to edu@nytimes.com for troubleshooting support. If you have any questions, please contact Reference.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window

Find more news on our News & Newspapers Guide

Blogs

Administrative Law Professor Blog
Provides information, resources and news about developments in administrative law.
Administrative Law Blog
From Lawyers.com
Comparative Administrative Law Blog
From Yale Law School – covers developments in administrative law around the world.
The Volokh Conspiracy
Contains discussions about current legal developments and provides analysis of the legal system and courts, recent news and events, law reviews and other scholarly writing
Jurist
Is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service run by part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers and led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.
Justia BlawgSearch
Front end access to over 1000 legally related blogs by lawyers, judges, legal researchers and librarians. This is a good way to find blog posts that follow particular cases or agency developments.
Rulemaking (Wordpress)
A blog about the government regulatory process. Not updated frequently.

Legal News Sources

The American Lawyer

	Available at The American Lawyer
	The current year's issues are available in Print in the Reserve Section of the Library.
	Available on LexisNexis (AMLAWR), 1995-

National Law Journal

	The National Law Journal is also available online at National Law Journal
	The most recent three months are available in print in the Reserve Section of the library
	Available on LexisNexis (NTLAWJ), from January 03, 1983

Law360

Law360 covers major developments in litigation, opinions, class action litigation, transactions involving the tope 250 law firms, hires at the top 800 law firms with expert analysis and input.

News & Current Awareness Sources on LexisNexis

Mealey's Litigation Reports and Daily News Updates

Topical litigation Reports listing current awareness for each practice area

Legal News Sources

Legal News (ALLNWS)

Emerging Issues Analysis

LEXIS Emerging Issues Analysis

Provides information and analysis on new legal issues.

CLE Materials

American Law Institute-American Bar Association Course of Study Materials (ALIABA)

Sample Searches:

Administrative /s procedure
Securities and Exchange Commission /s rulemaking

News & Current Awareness Sources on Westlaw

WESTLAW Bulletin (WLB)

Updated daily with summaries of recent developments in judicial, legislative and administrative law

Westlaw Topical Highlights

22 databases updated daily that contain summaries of judicial, legislative, and administrative actions in a particular area of law

News & Current Awareness Sources on Bloomberg

BloombergBNA publishes U.S. legal materials including topical newsletters that summarize recent case law and other developments. They cover many areas of law and federal agencies by topic and are current and considered authoritative. You can use these materials to spot developments by agency or topic. The Pence Law Library subscribes to a number of relevant BNA Titles, including:

See the BNA Library for more information.

50 State Surveys

NCSL 50-State Legislative Tracking Web Resources

50-state information in NCSL's searchable bill tracking databases. Updated generally every two weeks. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.

HeinOnline Subject Compilations of State Laws

Allows users to look up 50-state surveys on various topics. Each Compilation covers law review articles, judicial opinions, and links to websites.

	Available in print (Reserve KF1 .S92)
	Available on HeinOnline

LexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Legislation & Regulations (SURVEY)

LexisNexis hosts several multi-jurisdictional surveys, including topics such as Comparative Negligence and a list of specified topic areas in the database.

Pence Law Library Guides

Administrative Law Research: News & Current Awareness Sources

General News Sources

Blogs

Legal News Sources

The American Lawyer

National Law Journal

Law360

News & Current Awareness Sources on LexisNexis

News & Current Awareness Sources on Westlaw

News & Current Awareness Sources on Bloomberg

50 State Surveys