myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | Research Guides | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Skip to Main Content

Administrative Law Research: Administrative Decisions & Other Agency Actions

Resources to help you get started with Administrative law research.

Agency Decisions & Rulings

Agency decisions and adjudications are governed by the Administrative Procedure Act. These kinds of proceedings are an exercise of judicial power by an administrative agency. Agency adjudications can be formal or informal. Formal adjudications are much like the traditional adversarial process with witness testimony, a written record and final decision rendered. On the other hand, informal adjudications are decisions made using various forms of inspections, conferences and negotiations.

Such decisions are made by Administrative Law Judges based on their reasoned analysis, findings of fact and conclusions of law. These decisions can be appealed to the highest authority of the agency.  Findings of fact in administrative adjudications are non-binding unless supported by substantial evidence. Judicial review is limited to questions of law only.

Sources for Agency Decisions

There are various different sources for agency decisions, both official and unofficial sources. Sources for agency decisions and information include the following:

Official Sources

  • Agency Websites (Use these Portals for links to agency websites)
  • Official Agency Reporters
  • Specialized Finding Tools promulgated by the agency
  • U.S.C.S.

Unofficial Sources

  • Commercial Databases (CCH, ProQuest, etc.)
  • Loose-leaf Services
  • KeyCite
  • Shepard's
  • Appropriate Looseleaf or Secondary Sources
  • American Law Reports (ALR)

Finding Agency Decisions and Rulings online

Individual agency websites may have information on Agency Decisions. 

USA.gov Contains government information and links to all federal, state and local government websites. It also contains an A to Z list of federal agencies.

See the University of Virginia, Administrative Decisions and Other Actions - By Agency for links to agency decisions available on individual agency websites.

The LSU Federal Agency Index contains links to all the regulatory agencies listed in the U.S. Government Manual. Organized hierarchically, alphabetically and by type of agency group. The collection is currently closed to the public. Contact a LSU librarian with questions.

Finding Agency Rules of Procedure

Agency rules of procedure are unique to each agency. These rules of procedure are similar to Court rules and govern agency adjudications and other actions. Examples include the Rules of Practice for FERC found at 18 CFR 385 (FERC website; ECFR, GPO ACCESS, FERC GUIDELINES).

Portals to Federal Agency Information

These Portals to Agency Information provide links and information about the various Federal Agencies

Government Info Virtual Reference Shelf (UVA)

DocLaw (Washburn)

Data.gov 

Databases with Agency Decisions and Rulings

   
LexisAdvance

From the Lexis Directory Screen, visit the Area of Law - By Topic and choose your desired topic for decisions and rulings.

OR

From the Lexis Directory Screen, Select "Find a Topic" and choose Administrative Law. Here, you will find information on Agency Adjudication and Agency Investigations amongst other topics
Westlaw

From the Westlaw Directory, Select Practice Areas

Example: Choose a topic area e.g., "Antitrust" and you will be directed to a database of decisions and rulings.
OR
From the Westlaw Directory, Select Federal Materials. Then select Federal Administrative Decisions & Guidance. This will allow you to choose materials based on Agency, Jurisdiction, or topic.

You can also visit the Administrative Decisions & Guidance Index for information.
HeinOnline HeinOnline Federal Agency Documents, Decisions and Appeals includes the official case law of selected Administrative Agencies such as the NLRB, FCC, and IRS.

 

Sources of Agency Information @ Pence