myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | Research Guides | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Skip to Main Content

Administrative Law Research: Attorney General Opinions

Resources to help you get started with Administrative law research.

Attorney General Opinions

The Attorneys General of the United States and the Office of Legal Counsel (OLC) may promulgate non-binding advisory opinions. These opinions are based on authority by the Judiciary Act of 1789, 28 U.S.C. §§511-513. These opinions carry the weight of both primary and secondary authority because although they are official opinions of an executive officers, they are merely advisory and not mandatory although their content can be persuasive and influence court deliberations and other proceedings. 

Where to find opinions

  • The Opinions of the OLC published between 1977 and 1996 were compiled in the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel. 
  • Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel are available in print and online at the Pence Law Library.
  • Opinions are also available online and through commercial databases. 

  • In addition to these sources, the United States Code Annotated and United States Code Services also include digests of U.S. Attorney General Opinions.

  • U.S. Attorney General opinions may be shepardized to find citing sources.

Databases

   
LexisAdvance

LexisAdvance contains opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel from 1977 through current.
Westlaw

Westlaw contains Attorney General Opinions from 1791 through the current editions. Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel are available from 1977 through the present. 
HeinOnline

HeinOnline contains the U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection, which includes the full-text of the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel.