Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Washington College of Law - Library Guides

myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | LibGuides Directory | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

News & Newspapers @ Pence Law Library: Subscriptions available through Pence

Newspapers Available @ Pence

Pence has a number of newspapers and other news sources available through subscriptions. This guide provides information on Newspaper and other media sources available through Pence, free legal resources, news sources from the University Library and other information such as search tips and tools for accessing and reading the news. Use LEAGLE the Library Catalog and our E-Titles Finder to search for individual news titles. 

The Washington Post

Active K-12 educators and full-time and part-time U.S. college students, graduate students, faculty, and staff are eligible for the academic rate for the basic digital subscription, available here: https://subscribe.washingtonpost.com/acqlite/edu-offer/

In addition, the Washington Post is available through various databases accessible through the Pence Law Library: 

Historical News Databases

News Databases from the University Library

The University Library has a host of news databases available. 

News Wire Services

Be sure to check if your article is a citation to a News Wire service, not a Newspaper Article. Do not assume the citation is to a newspaper article, Make sure that you check Bluebook rule 16.6(d) rule which discusses wire services.  Access to wire services for news coverage is available from the following vendors:

BloombergLaw

The New York Times

As of January 5, 2022, American University will be expanding access to The New York Times to all current faculty, students, and staff.

Due to this change, your current New York Times digital access will stop on January 5, 2022, and you will need to reactivate your account.

Please follow the instructions below to continue your access:
1. Log out of nytimes.com on all your devices.
2. Go to http://accessnyt.com/ (or click on the link above)
3. Type and select "American University” in the box and then select “American University” from the dropdown menu.

***Please note: after selecting “American University” you are brought to a page that has both on-campus and off-campus login information. The on-campus link is prominent at the top of the page. To use the off-campus logon, you need to scroll down the “Go” button, which is below the fold. ***

4. Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
5. Input your existing New York Times login credentials
6. Select your status as "student" (enter graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
7. Click “Login” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com
Then, if you haven’t already done so, download New York Times apps on your smartphone and tablet.

By reactivating your account, you reaffirm your consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy.

If you have any questions, please contact reference@wcl.american.edu.

Here is some additional information from the New York Times:

An Academic Site License using NYTimes Group Passes provides users with full access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com smartphone apps.*

  • Enjoy access to NYTimes.com from any device.
  • Once activated from within your school’s network, a NYTimes.com Group Pass can be used from any location for the duration of your license period.

 

Access The New York Times  from ProQuest: 

News on LexisAdvance

Lexis Advance Logo

News on WestlawNext

The Wall Street Journal

Law360

LAW360 Logo

Access Law360 using this link: 

You can also access Law360 through LexisAdvance 

Financial Times

undefined

Other News Databases