myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | Research Guides | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Skip to Main Content

Maryland Legal Research Primer

Maryland Courts

Overview of Maryland Courts
   
Court of Appeals The Maryland Court of Appeals is the highest court in the state. Cases come to the court through certiorari, or other stipulations set out in the Maryland Constitution. 
Court of Special Appeals The Court of Special Appeals was created in 1966 as Maryland’s intermediate appellate court. It considers judgments and orders of the Circuit and orphans’ courts. There are 15 judges on the Maryland Court of Special Appeals although most cases are decided in three-judge panels. 
Circuit Courts

The Circuit Court is the state trial court of general jurisdiction in Maryland and the highest common law and equity court. It is the only court in Maryland that conducts jury trials. All 23 counties and the City of Baltimore have their own Circuit Courts grouped into eight circuits. Its opinions are nisi prius and therefore rarely published.

Circuit courts handle more serious criminal cases and major civil cases, including juvenile and other family law cases such as domestic violence, divorce, custody and child support. They review cases appealed from the District Court, Orphans’ Courts and administrative agencies. 
​District Courts

The District Court is the lowest level trial court in Maryland. Judges adjudicate cases in the District Court there are no jury trials.  There are 34 District Courts in Maryland and every county has at least one District Court. 

Maryland District Courts have jurisdiction over landlord-tenant cases, small claims for amounts less than $5,000, replevin actions, motor vehicle violations, misdemeanors, certain felonies, and peace and protective orders.

Finding Maryland Appeals Cases

Maryland Appellate Cases

Maryland Appellate Cases are available from a number of sources including: 

  LexisAdvance WestlawNext Free Online Access
Court of Appeals

MD Court of Appeals of Maryland Cases

Coverage begins with 1658

Maryland Court of Appeals Cases

Coverage begins with 1787

Maryland Court of Appeals Opinions

Coverage begins with 1995
Court of Special Appeals

MD Court of Special Appeals Cases

Coverage begins with 1967

MD Court of Special Appeals Cases 

Coverage begins with 1967
Coverage begins with 1995


 

Finding Maryland Trial Court Orders

Maryland Trial Court Orders

Maryland Trial Court Orders are available from the following sources

  LexisAdvance WestlawNext Free Online Access
Maryland Circuit Courts

MD Circuit Courts - Trial Orders 

Coverage begins with 1972

Maryland Civil Trial Court Orders

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Criminal Trial Court Orders

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

Various coverage dates see FAQs
​Maryland District Courts

MD Miscellaneous Lower Courts - Trial Orders

Coverage begins with 1979

 N/A

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

  • Criminal coverage begins in 1991
  • Civil coverage begins in 1989

Finding Dockets and Court Documents

  LexisAdvance WestlawNext Free Online Access
Maryland Court of Appeals

Dockets Maryland Court of Appeals

MD Briefs, Pleadings and Motions

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Briefs

Coverage begins with 1999

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

Coverage varies
Maryland Court of Special Appeals

Dockets Maryland Court of Special Appeals

MD Briefs, Pleadings and Motions

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Briefs

Coverage begins with 1999

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

Coverage varies
Maryland Circuit Courts

Dockets Maryland Circuit Court

MD Briefs, Pleadings and Motions

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Criminal Trial Court Documents

Maryland Civil Trial Court Documents

Coverage begins with 1997. Specify the court you would like to search in the search field

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

Coverage varies
Maryland District Courts

MD Briefs, Pleadings and Motions

Coverage begins with 2000

Maryland Criminal Trial Court Documents

Maryland Civil Trial Court Documents

Coverage begins with 1997. Specify the court you would like to search in the search field

Maryland Judiciary Case Search

Coverage varies