Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Washington College of Law - Library Guides

myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | LibGuides Directory | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Pence Law Library News & Information

Pence Law Library Celebrates Women's History Month

Last year, the American Bar Association unveiled its traveling exhibit, 100 Years after the 19th Amendment, celebrating the work of suffragists who fought for women’s voting rights. The Pence Law Library was scheduled to host the exhibit last fall, but because of the pandemic, will instead host the exhibit September 20-30, 2021.

“The centennial anniversary of the Nineteenth Amendment gives state and local bar associations, lawyers, judges and other legal professionals, educators and civic organizations the opportunity to celebrate 100 years of women’s constitutional right to vote, to educate the public about the Nineteenth Amendment and the battle for women’s suffrage, and to promote law that ensures women’s full and equal exercise of their right to vote and to participate in our democracy,” says the ABA.

WCL’s history is intertwined with the suffrage movement. Founders Ellen Spencer Mussey and Emma Gillett were both active in the movement, and suffragists Alice Paul and Mary Louise Bottineau Baldwin were early graduates of WCL.

This Women’s History Month, the Pence Law Library celebrates the achievements of WCL suffragists and other notable alumnae who fought for women's equality. 

Pence Law Library Celebrates Black History Month

Honoring Voting Rights Activists

Learn more about the suffragists and voting rights activists featured on our social media pages:

Mary Ann Shadd Cary Collection

Mary Church Terrell Papers

Ella Baker Papers

Fannie Lou Hamer Papers

Anti-Racism Resources

Racial Justice & Diversity ResourcesThis guide, created by Access Services Librarian Khelani Clay, contains library and internet resources that cover a number of issues related to the racial justice movement, including information on policing and mass incarceration, disparities in health and environmental justice as well as information on slavery and the civil rights movement to provide some context for the issues herein. There are also pages with information on understanding and addressing racism and resources for getting involved and advocacy. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate through the resources. 

Law Deans Antiracist Clearinghouse Project: "Many of us are asking ourselves what we can do as Black law deans, women law deans, LGBTQ law deans, people of color law deans, allied law deans, and deans with varying intersectional identities to address the malady of racism and the assault on black bodies. The AALS is taking various steps, including the curation of this webpage, to respond to racism in the United States, a scourge that threatens both our democracy and the rule of law."

Books from the catalog:

Are You Interested in Getting Published?

Don’t let your hard work go to waste! Join librarians and Prof. Snyder for a workshop on the best strategies for getting your note/comment or seminar paper published in an outside publication.  We’ll talk about finding journals or other publications that may be interested in publishing your work, writing high quality, publishable papers, and ways the library supports you through the submission process.  

Date: Wednesday, February 3 at 11:00 a.m.

Zoom link: https://auwcl.zoom.us/j/8710409308

Questions? Contact Adeen Postar

Accessing Study Aids

It’s exam time! The library subscribes to multiple study aid platforms, including Quimbee, CALI Lessons, West Academic Online Study Aids (Nutshells and many other titles), and Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids (Examples & Explanations and many other titles). View a comprehensive list here: https://wcl.american.libguides.com/studyaids. Be sure to follow the instructions for accessing each type of study aid.

Questions? Email reference@wcl.american.edu.

Updated Reference Hours (effective 12.3.20)

**Effective December 3, 2020 until December 23, 2020**

Research services are available by emailing reference@wcl.american.edu Monday - Friday, 9:00 am -  5:00 pm. Requests received outside those hours will be answered the next business day.

You may also schedule a research consultation outside those hours by emailing reference@wcl.american.edu.

Library Access (updated 11.18.20)

Reading Week/Exam Period Access for Fall 2020

Study Space Reservations: All semester-long study reservations (law school and library) ended on November 30th.  Beginning December 1st, there will be open reservations available in the library for WCL students. Deadlines to sign up for a study space are Sundays at noon for reservations on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday and Thursday at noon for reservations on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.  The first deadline for study space reservations is Sunday, November 29th. The study reservation periods remain the same: weekdays from 9am to 2pm and from 3pm to 8pm and Saturdays and Sundays from 9am to 5pm. This system remains in effect through Wednesday, December 23rd, unless there is a change in WCL’s health and safety policies based on changing COVID conditions.  Questions? Contact Khelani Clay or Adeen Postar. Sign up for a space here. 

Library Service Appointments: These appointments are still available. They are for one hour on a specific day and are designed to allow students to visit the library to access or scan materials or to perform other research-related tasks (e.g., you could sign up for Monday, September 14 from 10am to 11am). These appointments must be reserved no later than noon the day before they will be used (and by noon on Thursday for Saturday, Sunday, and Monday reservations). Sign up for an appointment here

Checking Out General Collection Materials

Students who need to check out a book from the general collection may do so through the hold feature in the catalog or by emailing our circulation desk.  These books will be available for pick up in the Yuma Street entrance where the printers are (there is also a book drop there to return library books). Please do not return a library laptop or charger to the book return; contact circulation to make arrangements to return those items.

Please review the Operating Policies before visiting the law library. 

Limited Number of Hotspots Available

The library and SBA are partnering to offer a limited number of hotspots to students who can demonstrate a need for better internet connectivity.  Complete this form no later than Tuesday, November 17 to be eligible for a 6GB hotspot from T-Mobile.  Questions? Contact Adeen Postar.

Make a Study Space or Scanning Appointment

Study Space Reservations

AUWCL students may sign up for study spaces in the library. 

  • This type of reservation will entitle its holder to a one time reserved study block (e.g., Monday, September 14 from 9am to 2pm, or Friday, September 18 from 3pm to 8pm).
  • There are two time blocks per day on weekdays (9am to 2pm and 3pm to 8pm), and one block per day on weekends (9am to 5pm).
  • The link to sign up for these spaces is below.
  • These seats must be reserved no later than noon the day before they will be used (and by noon on Thursday for weekend reservations).
Daily "Drive By" Library Appointments for Scanning Materials, Etc.
  • These appointments will be for one hour on a specific day and are designed to allow students to visit the library to access or scan materials or to perform other research-related tasks (e.g., you could sign up for Monday, September 14 from 10am to 11am).
  • The link to sign up for these spaces is below.
  • Like the last minute study blocks, these appointments must be reserved no later than noon the day before they will be used (and by noon on Thursday for weekend reservations).

Sign up through the LibCal system, available here.

Research Workshops for Legal Rhetoric Open Memo

Join reference librarians for a Zoom research workshop focused on the Legal Rhetoric open memo assignment. Talk to librarians about getting started with your research and efficiently finding the best sources on Westlaw Edge and Lexis+. There will also be time for Q&A.

Zoom link for all sessions: https://auwcl.zoom.us/j/8710409308

Workshops will be held:

  • Thursday, October 8 at 5:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, October 8 at 8:00 p.m.
  • Friday, October 9 at 1:00 p.m. 
  • Saturday October 10 at 11:00 a.m. 

Extra! Extra! WashingtonPost.com Now Available Through Library

Virtual Reference Desk Now Open

In addition to reaching your reference librarians by email, chat, and phone, you can now drop by our virtual reference desk. We’ll be staffing our reference Zoom room from 12:00-1:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. This service is available to all members of the AU/WCL community: faculty, staff, students, and alumni. This is a great opportunity to talk about in-depth research projects or troubleshoot database problems.

Join us here: https://auwcl.zoom.us/j/8710409308

Absentee Ballot Week: September 8-15

Make sure you're registered to vote! We've created a guide on registering to vote and requesting your absentee ballot: https://wcl.american.libguides.com/voting

Library Operating Status 8.25.20

Welcome and welcome back to a most unusual semester!

Library Access

The library will open on Friday, August 28th. Access to the library is limited to 50 students at a time, presently allocated to those who completed the application sent last week indicating their need to use the Commons, the cafeteria or the library as a place to study.  We will, however, continue to offer reference services by email and chat.  Students who are approved to use study space in the library and in the cafeteria or the Commons will be notified.

Checking Out General Collection Materials

Students who need to check out a book from the general collection may do so through the hold feature in the catalog or by emailing our circulation desk.  These books will be available for pick up in the Yuma Street entrance where the printers are (there is also a book drop there to return library books). Please do not return a library laptop or charger to the book return; contact circulation to make arrangements to return those items.

Casebooks and Other Reserve Materials

We know that many of you want to use the library’s casebook collection in our closed reserve area.  Beginning Tuesday, August 25th, you may make reservations to visit the library for one hour to scan limited pages from your casebook. From August 25-28, up to five students will be admitted to the library at a time to do this. After that, only one student will be admitted to the library at any time to scan materials.  We also have installed a book sterilizer that will enable us to disinfect books in 5 minutes, allowing us to make the reserve collection available to you. 

Please review the Fall 2020 Operating Policies before visiting the law library. 

Lexis+ Overview for Upper Level Students

Join WCL's Lexis representative, Mikiel Singh, for an overview of the new Lexis+ platform. These sessions will familiarize students with the over 10 new and enhanced features of the upgraded research platform. The examples that will be covered should also be a great refresher on legal research.

August 11th at 9 am – Zoom meeting: https://relx.zoom.us/j/96601229097

August 13th at 12 pm – Zoom meeting: https://relx.zoom.us/j/92068471908

August 19th at 9 am – Zoom meeting: https://relx.zoom.us/j/91622421213

August 21st at 12 pm – Zoom meeting: https://relx.zoom.us/j/92994950966

July 1, 2020 Limited Print Materials Now Available

We are very happy to announce that although WCL and the Pence Law Library remain closed, the law library will begin limited services on Thursday, July 2nd and will continue these services Tuesdays and Thursdays between 9 am and 3 pm. Library staff will check out print materials, receive book returns, and scan materials.  To make a request, use the catalog or email circ@wcl.american.edu. Please note that at this time reserve materials may not be checked out, and we are unable to scan pages from casebooks.  All scanning requests must comply with copyright laws.  You will receive an email when your books are available and to arrange to pick them up at designated times.

Interlibrary loan may also be available for books and materials that are not in our collection.  Email us at ill@wcl.american.edu with your request, but please understand that many libraries are still closed and this service may either not be available or may be very slow. 

WCL students have access to thousands of e-books, journals and periodicals, so be sure to check our holdings in the library catalog or our e-titles finder (for e-books and journals) before you make an ILL request. 

Need help with your research? Contact our reference librarians at reference@wcl.american.edu

June 3, 2020 Resources for Supporting Protesters

May 19, 2020 Library Alumni Resources

Congratulations, AUWCL class of 2020!

Library Databases

May graduates have access to all library databases until September 1, 2020. Use our A-Z Databases list to access all databases and login through the proxy server with your AU username/password.

Westlaw

Free Westlaw access for 18 months after graduation. Go to lawschool.westlaw.com to extend your account and access Westlaw Edge, Practical Law, Practice Point & more.

Bloomberg Law

2020 graduating law students will have unrestricted access to Bloomberg Law through June 1, 2021.

Lexis

Free, automatic Lexis Advance access until February 28, 2021.

HeinOnline

Free, remote access to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library and ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals & the Fastcase federal
and state case law collection via Hein (access through the link on your CareerLink homepage).

Alumni Library Cards

Once we reopen, call us or stop by the circulation desk for an alumni library card so that you can check out materials from the library.

Reference Services 

Reference librarians are happy to help alumni with research. Contact us at reference@wcl.american.edu or 202-274-4352.

More Info

Visit our Alumni Services page.

May 11, 2020

Pence Law Library's Summer Research Resources

This guide contains information on using library resources for your summer employment and academics.

April 27, 2020

Check out our WCL exams database!

http://wcl.american.libguides.com/c.php?g=563289&p=6828069

Access past exams using your MyAU login information. A great way to review for your exams is to read through old ones!

October 21 - 30 - Open Memo Research Help Drop-In Hours

Don't just free fall, stop by the library to get help with your open memo research from one of the reference librarians.

Room N100C (library training lab).

Mon 10/21: 12-1:00 pm

Wed 10/23: 12-1:00 pm

Sat 10/26: 2-3:00 pm

Mon 10/28: 12-1:00 pm

Wed 10/30: 12-1:00 pm

(We can also help with Bluebook citations). 

September 3, 2019 - Open Memo Research Workshops

Library Research Workshops for 1L Open Memo

Pence Law Library

From October 7th through 11th, the law library is hosting 30-minute research workshops related to the open memo problem. Librarians will talk about search strategies and how to find sources using Westlaw Edge. All workshops will be held in N100C on the first floor of the library.

Sign up for a session here: https://forms.gle/ovdBUTMkfLtk1aQN6  

Welcome & Welcome Back

 

Hours

The library is staffed until midnight each night and is accessible 24/7 to the WCL community. Just swipe your ID card for after-hours entry. 

Study Aids

The library provides free electronic access to the following study aids:

Casebooks & More

The library has copies of all 1L casebooks and select upper level casebooks on closed reserve for three-hour checkout. Ask for your book at the circulation desk.

Borrow laptops, chargers, standing desks, bookstands, umbrellas, and more from the library.

Group Study Rooms

To reserve a group study room:

  • Login to MyWCL with your network username and password
  • From the tool bar on the left, under the Pence Law Library, select Study Room Reservation System
  • Select the room number, the day (the current day is expanded – scroll down to view other options for the current week), and the time you want to reserve by clicking on any time slot that says reserve
  • A separate window will open with information about the room – select your time window using the drop down boxes and click save
  • You can book up to 2 hours per day in 15 minute increments for the current week; you can split up the two hours in any way that fits your schedule
  • You will receive an email confirmation indicating the room and time of your reservation
  • Reservations you make will appear in blue, and you can log in and edit the reservation if your plans change
  • If you have problems using the online room reservation system, contact mywcl@wcl.american.edu

More Library Info

For more information about library services, visit the library’s website.

Questions?

Contact Shannon Roddy, Student Services Librarian