myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home | myLEAGLE Library Account

Pence Law Library Guides

Library Home | Research Guides | LEAGLE Catalog | E-Journals & Articles | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Skip to Main Content

Services Available to Alumni: Services Available to Alumni

Alumni Database Access

Subscription Databases

WCL alumni have access to several interdisciplinary article databases, including JSTOR, Project Muse, and Academic Search Premier. To access these databases, alumni should e-mail alumni@american.edu. They can arrange access to the AU alumni online community

Remote Access

Due to license restrictions, WCL cannot offer remote access to other subscription-based databases to graduates, but Pence staff members welcome and encourage the use of the library’s website and catalog at http://library.wcl.american.edu/.  The new LEAGLE catalog interface allows alumni to search the library’s collections to access content from many places.  

Access to E-Resources

Access to Electronic Databases

Alumni may use electronic databases and resources anywhere in the library. Wireless access and several computers are available for patrons’ use. Available databases include ProQuest Congressional, BloombergLaw, HeinOnline and other databases. Alumni may also have access to University Library resources as well. More information is available here: https://www.american.edu/library/services/alumni.cfm

Access to Lexis & Westlaw

Recent Graduates have access to Lexis and Westlaw for 6 months after graduation. 

Please note you must affirmatively confirm that you would like to retain access after graduation. Contact reference@wcl.american.edu for more information. 

Guest Access to E-Resources Passes

The library offers guest access to e-resources by checking out a pass at the Circulation Desk that provides temporary, onsite login credentials to the WCL Wi-Fi and institutional resources. The Guest E-Resources Pass allows onsite access to most online institutional resources. Check the A-Z Databases list to see if the Guest E-Resources Pass will provide you access to the database you are seeking. 

Reference Assistance

Reference librarians are happy to assist graduates with research at their firms and offices to provide assistance with complicated research projects related to legislative history, regulatory issues, international and foreign law, and other topics. To contact a reference librarian, email reference@wcl.american.edu

VIsiting the Library

WCL alumni are welcome to use the library and its collections the old-fashioned way—by stopping in during public hours Monday - Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. Alumni are also eligible to get an Alumni ID from the OneCard office to borrow circulating materials from the law library.

Alumni may go to the the OneCard office, located on American University Main Campus in Mary Graydon Center (MGC123). Alumni One Cards are free to all alumni who have completed a degree or non-degree program. More information is available here.

Checking out books

Alumni are able to borrow books at the Circulation Desk using their Alumni OneCard, AU ID number, or by name.

Contact Us

 reference@wcl.american.edu

‚Äč 202-274-4352

Pinterest Icon Facebook icon Instagram Icon Youtube Icon

Ask Pence Library

Chat Service is offered during Reference Desk hours, and is available to AU and WCL currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Privacy: Pence Law Library values confidentiality. We may save a copy of your chat session for research or educational purposes, but will remove all identifying information.