Sections 1, 2, 3, & 4

Clear explanations and features designed to help students master the material.

Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include how to choose the proper court, pretrial and trial preparation, adjudication, judgments, appeals, and specialized multi-party/multi-claim proceedings.

Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - explaining the role of each and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.

Civil Pro in outline form by topic. Capsule summaries provide quick reference to cases.

This outline covers: choosing the forum - personal jurisdiction; choosing the forum - subject matter jurisdiction; ascertaining applicable law; commencing the action - notice and service of process; pleadings; joinder; obtaining information prior to trial - discovery; resolution without trial; pretrial judicial case management; trial; appellate review; and the binding, preclusive effects of judgments.

The topics discussed include territorial jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal question jurisdiction, and supplemental jurisdiction). Explains the Erie doctrine and federal common law, pleadings, and parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery, summary judgment, pretrial conference and settlements, trial, appeals, claim preclusion and issue preclusion.

The Summary begins with an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, and also includes Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers. Throughout the outline, there are also Exam Tips and charts to summarize and explain the material.

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.

Cold Call Companion is a video tool that helps students prepare for "cold calls" in class. It provides a structured way to study and practice breaking down legal issues and key points from a case, often including features like case summaries, practice questions, and relevant legal analysis to aid in quick comprehension and confident responses during class discussions.

The In Other Words video series covers fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner.

With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers

Description: Practice makes perfect! Friedman’s Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions.

Includes practice multiple choice and essay questions.

This book provides a comprehensive analysis of civil procedure, convenient for class or exam preparation. It provides clear and concise explanations of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. It includes self-testing and diagnostic review questions and case squibs, which are capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues, and relevant law. It also provides a casebook table, which keys to relevant pages of leading casebooks, and numerous essay and multiple-choice questions with model answers and detailed explanations. A study guide offers suggestions for the critical hours before an exam.