LibGuides: International Human Rights: US Immigration Law

This tab is designed for researching US immigration law in the context of international human rights law. For a more comprehensive guide to US immigration law, see our Immigration Law Research Library Guide.

Current Awareness

Interpreter Releases Daily (Westlaw)
Current articles. Most articles posted in Interpreter Releases Daily are also posted in Interpreter Releases on a weekly basis. Articles older than one month are deleted from Interpreter Releases Daily and thereafter can be found only in Interpreter Releases.
Interpreter Releases (Westlaw)
Published weekly 48 times a year, consolidating articles published in Interpreter Releases Daily for permanent reference.
ImmigrationProfBlog (blog)
Immigration Daily (blog)
Siskind's Immigration Bulletin (blog)
Westlaw Immigration Daily Briefing (Westlaw)
Bender's Immigration Bulletin (paper only)
In our General Collection at KF4802 .B46
The Hill: Immigration (Westlaw)
CQ Roll Call Washington Immigration Briefing (Westlaw)
Immigration Briefings (Westlaw)
Immigration Business News & Comment (Westlaw)
Immigration Proposed & Enacted Legislation (Westlaw)
Immigration Proposed & Adopted Regulations (Westlaw)

Databases

AILA Link This link opens in a new window
Database from the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA). Access to AILA publications; Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook; federal immigration statutes, regulations and case law; the Foreign Affairs Manual and other government resources. Customizable pdf forms also available.

Immigration Resources from the Legal Information Institute
A good description of the area of immigration law and the free resources available from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.
Country Conditions Research
Compiled and updated by the EOIR Law Library and Immigration Research Center (LLIRC). All content is compiled from publicly available documents that report on aspects of country conditions that have relevance in removal hearings before the immigration courts.
O*Net OnLine
Database of occupational descriptions useful in immigration petitions, from the Department of Labor.
The Visa Bulletin (State Dept.)
Useful information including the backlog wait times for visas.
Country Reports on Human Rights (current)
The most recent Country Reports on Human Rights from the US Department of State.
Country Reports on Human Rights (historical) (HeinOnline)
Country Reports on Human Rights (Westlaw)
Both current and historical reports are searchable using this interface, but you cannot browse.
Country Reports on Human Rights (Lexis)
Both current and historical reports may be searched and browsed here.

Immigration Treatises & Journals

Gordon, et al., Immigration Law & Procedure (Lexis)
Kurzban, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (AILA Link)
In the left-hand Contents sidebar click "AILA Books" then on "Kurzban’s Immigration Law Sourcebook 17th Edition [© 2020]"
Dizon & Dadhania, Immigration Law Service 2d (Westlaw)
Steel, Steel on Immigration Law (Westlaw)
Bender's Immigration and Nationality Act Service (Lexis)
Fragomen, Fragomen Immigration Handbooks
Kesselbrenner & Rosenberg, Immigration Law and Crimes (Westlaw)
Under the auspices of the National Immigration Project of the National Lawyer's Guild.
Hornik, Immigration Law and Defense (Westlaw)
Under the auspices of the National Immigration Project of the National Lawyer's Guild.
Georgetown Immigration Law Journal (HeinOnline)
Published by Georgetown University since 1985, preceded by the Georgetown Immigration Law Reporter (1980) & the Georgetown Immigration Law Quarterly (1981-1985).
Immigration and Human Rights Law Review (U. Cin.)
Published by the University of Cincinnati since 2019. This publication is the successor to the Immigration and Nationality Law Review (see below).
Immigration and Nationality Law Review (HeinOnline)
Published by the University of Cincinnati from 1976 until 2019.

Legislation

AILA Link This link opens in a new window

Regulations

US Regulations from the Federal Government
Immigration Regulations from US CIS
eCFR
Electronic version of the Code of Federal Regulations from the US GPO
CFR from the Legal Information Institute

AILA Link This link opens in a new window

Case Law

US Cases from the Federal Government

AILA Link This link opens in a new window

Administrative Decisions & Guidance

AG/BIA/OCAHO Immigration Decisions from EOIR

AILA Link This link opens in a new window

State Laws

State Laws Related to Immigration and Immigrants
The National Conference of State Legislatures tracks and reports on state laws and resolutions that address legal immigrants, migrant and seasonal workers, refugees and unauthorized immigrants. The report identifies and summarizes all laws and resolutions enacted, and highlights examples of new laws or trends.

Find Research Materials @ Pence Law Library

Use the catalog to search for International Human Rights Materials.

Pence Law Library Catalog (LEAGLE) This link opens in a new window
Our online catalog.

Subject Searching

Use subject searching to find materials that you are looking for in our catalog. Some of the subjects may be further subdivided into region, country, or subtopic. To search those, click on the basic search and then add the country, region, or subtopic to the search term, separated by a double-dash.

Forms & Manuals

AILA Link This link opens in a new window

Agencies & Organizations

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Parent agency that oversees the 3 major immigration agencies.
US Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS)
Has forms, FAQs, current & historical laws, & regulations.
Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE)
Information on foreign students and detention portal information.
Customs & Border Protection (CBP)
Border security and travel information.
Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR)
Office in the Department of Justice that oversees the immigration courts, with links to them and to the Immigration Court Practice Manual. Many other resources available in their virtual law library.
Department of State
Department of Labor – Foreign Labor Certification
Resources for foreign labor certification.
National Immigration Law Center
American Immigration Lawyers Association

Statistics

TRAC (Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse)
TRAC - covers felonies and deportation, border protection, criminal convictions and prosecutions, criminal enforcement, DHS enforcement priorities, immigration courts, immigration inspections, and related topics
Immigration Data & Statistics from DHS
DHS Yearbook Of Immigration Statistics (Lexis)
Lexis has this from January 1, 1998 to December 31, 2013, although the entire yearbook is available for free from the DHS Immigration Data & Statistics website above.
Visa Statistics from the Department of State
CIRI Human Rights Data Project (1981-2011)
Freedom in the World
Survey and rating of 195 countries and 15 related and disputed territories by human rights criteria.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) is an open platform for sharing data across crises and organisations.
Minorities At Risk (MAR)
Monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of more than 284 politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500K.
WomenStats
Cross-national database covers over 350 variables relating to the situation and security of women in 175 countries.
AidData
Data to provide better evidence to improve how sustainable development investments are targeted, monitored, and evaluated.
Humanitarian Aid Contributions
Data from the Financial Tracking Service of UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs which tracks all reported international humanitarian aid including that for NGOs, Red Cross/Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations.

Pence Law Library Guides

International Human Rights: US Immigration Law