Montgomery v. Louisiana, 136 S. Ct. 718 (2016)

Construes Miller's prohibition on sentences of life without parole for juvenile offenders to be applied retroactively. 

Westlaw 

• Link to full-text of cases on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Montgomery) 
• Link to citing references from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary materials discussing and construing Montgomery)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of cases on Lexis (use headnotes to find cases construing Montgomery) 
• Link to citing references from Lexis (includes primary and secondary materials discussing and construing Montgomery

These cases are the relevant decisions that prohibit sentences of life without parole for juvenile offenders. 

Miller v. Alabama, 567 U.S. 460 (2012)

The Eighth Amendment prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment forbids the mandatory life without the possibility of parole sentencing for juvenile homicide offenders.

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Miller)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Miller)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Miller)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Miller)

Graham v. Florida, 560 U.S. 48 (2010)

The Eighth Amendment's Cruel and Unusual Punishments Clause does not permit a juvenile offender to be sentenced to life in prison without parole for a non-homicidal crime. 

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Graham)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Graham)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Graham)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Graham)

Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005)

Standards of decency have evolved so that executing minors is considered  "cruel and unusual punishment" prohibited by the Eighth Amendment. 

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Roper)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Roper)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Roper)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Roper)

JDB v. North Carolina, 564 US 261 (2011)

"...a child's age properly informs the Miranda custody analysis, so long as the child's age was known to the officer at the time of police questioning, or would have been objectively apparent to a reasonable officer."

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing JDB)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing JDB)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing JDB)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing JDB)

Carter v. State, 192 A.3d 695 (Md. 2018)

Juvenile's aggregate sentence of 100 years on four counts of first-degree assault, with parole eligibility after 50 years, violates the Eighth Amendment.

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Carter)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Carter)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Carter)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Carter)

Davis v. State, 474 Md. 439 (2021). 

"...to determine whether a child is amenable to treatment in an institution, facility, or program available to delinquent children, which is a factor to be considered when determining whether to transfer jurisdiction of a criminal case to juvenile court, a court needs to determine whether treatment programs would, in fact, be available to the child, and the court needs to make an assessment of whether it is likely that the child would benefit from an available Department of Juvenile Services (DJS) program better than he or she would from anything likely to be available in the adult system and whether that would reduce the likelihood of recidivism and make the child a more productive law-abiding person."

Westlaw -

• Link to full-text of case on Westlaw (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Davis)
• Citing References from Westlaw (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Davis)
• Briefs & Filings from Westlaw

Lexis

• Link to full-text of case on Lexis (use headnotes and key numbers to find cases construing Davis)
• Shepard's Report from LexisAdvance (includes primary and secondary resources discussing and construing Davis)