April 26, 2022 Pedagogy Workshop

Presented by Office of Online Learning and Pence Law Library

Databases & tools that increase student engagement, complement classroom instruction, improve syllabi, and help build legal research skills

PlayPosit: create interative videos. Integrates with Canvas.

• What is PlayPosit?

Hypothes.is: group annotation.

• Slides from 2021 Workshop
• Annotating the law

Poll Everywhere: Create multiple choice and true/false questions to gauge students' understanding; solicit students' opinions; take attendance; spark classroom discussions.

• Contact IT for institutional account access
• Tutorial videos
• Download extensions for PowerPoint and Google Slides

Libguides: Work with your library liaison to create a resource guide for your seminar or clinic. Browse the law library's extensive collection of guides to understand what is possible. 

• Legal Writing: IP guide
• Reentry Clinic guide

• Course Guide: Adv.Topics in Oversight & Accountability

Perma.cc: preserve URLs forever and prevent link rot.

• Email Shannon Roddy for an account
• Download browser extensions for Chrome and Firefox

E-books from the library's catalog

• Search the Catalog by book title/author or whatever information you have
• Filter results to “available online”
• Catalog search will locate e-books from all library collections, including Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law and study aids collections
• View our study aids collections
  • West Academic Online Study Aids
  • Aspen Learning Library
• Bender Library also has e-book collections

Supplements through Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law

• Forego paper supplements. Instead, link to:
  • UCC & other uniform laws
  • Federal Rules
  • Flowcharts & toolkits
• Contact your library liaison for help linking

Free casebook sources

• CALI eLangdell Bookstore
  • Many topics; Creative Commons Licensed and Peer Reviewed.  Print copies available at a low price
• H2O 
  • Build your own casebook with a template provided by Harvard Law Library. Printing available.
• Open Casebook Series
  • Only Torts (March 2022) available now.  Paperback $65.00 
• Open Textbook Library (UMN)
  • Many subjects available
• Teaching Commons
  • Titles to date include Copyright Law (2019), Civil Practice (2017), Show Me Criminal Procedure (2019), Dispute Resolution in the Digital Age – Online Dispute Resolution (2018), and Impeachment and Rehabilitation (2019)
  • Creative Commons License
• LiveCarta (Formerly LawCarta)
  • Many topical casebooks, $0 to $180

Create your own low and lower-cost print casebooks

• Aspen Publishing Custom Publishing
• Semaphore Press 
  • Topics include civil rights, intellectual property, internet law, Interstate Compacts and Property Law
• ChartaCourse 
  • Create your own digital casebook.
• UMN list of affordable course materials by subject

Faculty casebook access through West Academic

• If you use a West casebook, you can access a free electronic version from West Academic
• Go to https://faculty.westacademic.com/ and create an account if you don’t already have one (you can make the sign in the same as your Westlaw credentials)
• Search for the title of your book and click the “View Digital Copy” button
• You can read it online and download/print a limited number of pages
• Site uses DRM to enforce a hard 10% print/download limit

Proquest Legislative Insight: the best source for compiled federal legislative histories.

Non-legal resources through Bender Library

• Remember the Bender Library is your best resource for non-legal information
• Search their databases (organized alphabetically and topically; Topic List)
• Locate individual journals using the Find Journals link on the homepage
• Databases include:
  • Science Direct
  • Sage Premier and Sage Business
  • Academic Search Premier
  • ProQuest Central

Foreign and international law databases

• ICC Legal Tools Database
  • Your one-stop shop for researching international criminal law
• European Court of Human Rights
  • HUDOC case-law database