This comprehensive & annotated Analytical Guide to the work of the International Law Commission, covers the period 1949-1997. It is organized by topics, subdivided into categories & stages of consideration within the Commission; thus allowing the reader to trace the development of each topic from inception to conclusion. The topics include: sources of international law, subjects of international law, succession of states, state jurisdiction, law of international organizations, position of the individual in international law, international criminal law & the settlement of disputes.

Breach of treaty, and its consequences, constitutes one of the central problems of international law. In this work - a contribution to the series of Hersch Lauterpacht Memorial Lectures - a foremost authority on the law of treaties examines the subject with particular reference to the provisions of the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties and the work of the International Law Commission on that subject and on State Responsibility.

This systematic analysis of State complicity in international law focuses on the rules of State responsibility. Combining a theoretical perspective on complicity based on the concept of the international rule of law with a thorough analysis of international practice, Helmut Philipp Aust establishes what forms of support for wrongful conduct entail responsibility of complicit States and sheds light on the consequences of complicity in terms of reparation and implementation. Furthermore, he highlights how international law provides for varying degrees of responsibility in cases of complicity, depending on whether peremptory norms have been violated or special subject areas such as the law of collective security are involved. The book shows that the concept of State complicity is firmly grounded in international law, and that the international rule of law may serve as a conceptual paradigm for today's international legal order.

A 4 volume set

The International Law Commission (ILC) marked its fiftieth anniversary in 1997. To celebrate this a two-day seminar was held in Geneva on 21-22 April 1998. This publication contains the proceedings of this seminar that took the form of successive discussions of six topics pertaining to the core theme of evaluation of the Commission and its achievements after fifty years. At the seminar panellists made a presentation on their individual topics, and this was followed by comments from other designated panellists. This publication also contains two annexes: the first contains the present membership of the ILC; and the second contains the Statute of the Commission.

An appraisal of the International Law Commission of the United Nations. It sheds light on its functions and the process by which it pursues its stated goals of codifying and developing international law. It also addresses the dearth of systematic analysis of the Commission's work.

During the last 50 years, the International Law Commission has been at the forefront in meeting the challenges facing the world community in the realm of international law. The papers presented in this publication, from a mixed group of policy-makers, practitioners, international law-makers & academics, explore ways of strengthening the International Law Commission. Practical proposals that might enable the Commission to contribute still more effectively to the progressive development of international law & its codification are presented along with a range of papers & documents relating to the Commission, its work & its achievements. This work is also available electronically from the HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection

The present collection of materials reproduces the text of the State responsibility articles, with commentaries thereto, as presented in the Yearbook of the International Law Commission, together with the compilation of decisions recording 154 instances in which international courts, tribunals and other bodies referred to the articles and commentaries during the period from 1973 to 1996 when the draft articles were adopted on first reading, from 1996 to their adoption on second reading in 2001, and up to 31 January 2010. This work is also available from HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection

Volume 5 includes an article by Pemmaraju Sreenivasa Rao on the International Law Commission (see p. 875). The Encyclopedia is available in print and also electronically for the WCL community.

Includes information on The international community, jus cogens norms and obligations erga omnes; Community interests in the law on state responsibility; Countermeasures in the name of community interests in state practice; Self-contained regimes, solidarity measures and the fragmentation of international law; The principle of proportionality as well as UN and other Documentation in an appendix

This publication is intended to provide a general introduction to the work of the International Law Commission, with sufficient references to facilitate further research. Volume I contains a discussion of the nature and role of the Commission, as well as of its programme of work, working methods and relationship with Governments and other legal bodies. It also includes a brief summary of the work undertaken on each topic considered since 1949, as well as several annexes, containing its Statute and relevant historical information about the Commission. A selected bibliography of materials related to the work of the Commission is appended. The present edition reflects the latest developments in the work of the Commission as of 31 December 2011. NOTE: MORE CURRENT EDITIONS ARE AVAILABLE VIA HEINONLINE.