Skip to main content Untitled Document

myAU | AU Library | myWCL | Library Home

My Library Banner

Library Home | LibGuides Directory | LEAGLE Catalog | Encore Catalog | E-Titles Finder | Library Databases | Frequently Used Resources | Ask a Librarian

Services Available to Alumni: Home

Alumni Library Access

All alumni have access to the library during our public hours (M-F 8-8; Sat 9-5). Alumni may also pick up an alumni library card at the circulation desk if they need to check out materials.  

If alums are studying for the bar exam or anticipate needing after-hours access to the library for work assignments, etc., alumni can go to main campus to get an AU Alumni One Card. It will then need to take it to the WCL Facilities office in YT05 to get it coded for library access. This will entitle alums to 24/7 access to the law library.

 

Alumni Cards

Alumni cards enable graduates to borrow circulating materials from the law library. Cards are available at the circulation desk. Please stop by the circulation desk and talk to one of the circulation managers about an alumni card.

Alumni Database Access

HeinOnline Law Journal Database

WCL’s Pence Law Library is the first law school in the country to offer its alumni access to HeinOnline’s Law Journal database. This database has more than 1,700 law and law-related journals with a broad range of coverage. Alumni can search the database by keyword, article title, author, subject, and/or state or country published. Articles can be downloaded in a searchable PDF format. Alumni access to HeinOnline is available through the CareerLink home page that can be accessed using a personal login and password. To request a CareerLink account, send an e-mail to careerdevelopment@wcl.american.edu including your full name, date of graduation, degree program, and your primary e-mail address (which will become your CareerLink username). Registration may take up to two business days.        

Other Pence Databases

In addition to HeinOnline, WCL alumni have access to several interdisciplinary article databases, including JSTOR, Project Muse, and Academic Search Premier. To access these databases, alumni should e-mail Cozette Conrad at cozette@american.edu. She can arrange access to the AU alumni online community

Remote Access

Due to license restrictions, WCL cannot offer remote access to other subscription-based databases to graduates, but Pence staff members welcome and encourage the use of the library’s website and catalog at http://library.wcl.american.edu/.  The new Encore catalog interface allows alumni to search the library’s collections to access content from many places, including articles from HeinOnline.  

Access to E-Resources

Alumni may use electronic databases and resources anywhere in the library. Wireless access and several computers are available for patrons’ use. Available databases include ProQuest Congressional, BloombergBNA topical materials, and CCH Intelliconnect.

Recent Graduates

Recent Graduates have access to Lexis & Westlaw for extended periods after graduation. 

Starting with May 2017 WCL graduates, access is available to Lexis and Westlaw for 6 months and 18 months respectively. 

Contact reference@wcl.american.edu for more information. 

Reference Assistance

Reference librarians are happy to assist graduates with research at their firms and offices to provide assistance with complicated research projects related to legislative history, regulatory issues, international and foreign law, and other topics. To contact a reference librarian, email reflib@wcl.american.edu

Visiting the Library

WCL alumni are welcome to use the library and its collections the old-fashioned way—by stopping in during public hours: 

Fall & Spring Semesters

Monday – Friday, 8:00 am – 8:00 pm

Saturday, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Sunday, Closed

Summer Semester

Monday – Thur., 8:00 am – 8:00 pm

Friday, 8:00 am – 6:00 pm

Saturday, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Sunday, Closed

Please note that these hours may change during the intercession (before and after semesters) and during winter break.

Contact Us

 reference@wcl.american.edu

‚Äč 202-274-4352

Pinterest Icon Facebook icon Instagram Icon Youtube Icon

Ask Pence Library

Chat Service is offered during Reference Desk hours, and is available to AU and WCL currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Privacy: Pence Law Library values confidentiality. We may save a copy of your chat session for research or educational purposes, but will remove all identifying information.