Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

This basic legal encyclopedia is searchable and browseable by topic.

Browse by area of law or life events.

Covers a selected range of legal practice areas.

Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Browse by topic or search.

Browse alphabetically or search terms or definitions.

Browse simple term definitions from the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.

Includes law journals.

The Law Review Commons brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years. All Law Review Commons publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories.

This is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research.

Journal of the American Bar Association (2004-present)

Search for law-related articles, many of which will be freely available.

While not all content on JSTOR is freely available, this portal allows you to search and browse those journals that are open access.

While not all content on JSTOR is freely available, this portal allows you to search and browse those ebooks, journals,and art that are open access.

Includes law-related books.

Searchable database of open access theses and dissertations from universities around the world, including law-related ones.

Search Congressional Research Service Reports on a variety of topics, including many law-related areas.