Business and Corporate Law: Books and Treatises

The following resources, authored by leading legal scholars and practitioners, offer in-depth guidance on business, corporate, and transactional law. These treatises are invaluable for understanding key legal principles, exploring policy debates, and locating relevant primary authorities. VitalLaw is an especially critical resource for business and corporate law.

• Antitrust & Competition: Under Practice Areas, click "Antitrust & Competition" to access the relevant materials.

• Business Ethics: Under ESG Curated Topic Search, then Governance, click "Business Ethics" to access the relevant materials.

• Corporation Law & Governance: Under Practice Areas, click "Securities - Corporation Law & Governance" to access the relevant materials

• Corporate Board: Under ESG Curated Topic Search, then Governance, click "Corporate Board" to access the relevant materials.

Many others are accessible electronically to WCL students via platforms like Westlaw Precision, Lexis+, and Bloomberg Law.

Fletcher Cyclopedia of the Law of Corporations by William Meade Fletcher & Basil Jones

Available at KF1384.F551
Renowned as the most comprehensive and frequently cited authority on corporate law, this multi-volume treatise covers the full life cycle of a corporation—from formation to dissolution—under both state and federal law. Often cited by courts nationwide.

Treatise on the Law of Corporations by James D. Cox & Thomas Lee Hazen

Available via Westlaw Precision
This four-volume work delivers a detailed, scholarly analysis of corporate law. It offers historical context, doctrinal development, and contemporary application, covering everything from governance and fiduciary duties to federal regulatory frameworks.

The Law of Agency and Partnership by William A. Gregory

Available via West Academic Study Aids
An essential introduction to the principles of agency and partnership law. This treatise emphasizes clarity and accessibility, making it ideal for law students and practitioners alike. It also incorporates recent developments and statutory reforms.

Soderquist on Corporate Law and Practice by Linda O. Smiddy

Available via ProQuest
A practical and doctrinally grounded overview of corporate law. This treatise explores the interaction of corporate governance with securities law, unincorporated business entities, and Delaware corporate law, and includes sample forms and practical guidance.

Bromberg and Ribstein on Partnership by Christine A. Hurt & D. Gordon Smith

Available at KF1375.H87
A widely respected source for analyzing general and limited partnership law. This treatise explores everything from fiduciary duties and partner liabilities to formation strategies and dissolution. Routinely cited by courts for its clarity and depth.

Business Research Handbook: Methods and Sources for Lawyers and Business Professionals by Kathy E. Shimpock

Available at KF240.S55 1996
This guide offers research strategies tailored for legal and business professionals. Includes step-by-step workflows, practical decision points, and tools for efficiently navigating online and print sources.

Corporation Law by Franklin Gevurtz

Available via West Academic Study Aids
Focused on clarifying complex topics rather than reciting rules. Gevurtz’s straightforward and student-friendly style makes it a go-to source for understanding corporate doctrine and policy debates, with limited but useful citations.

Organizing Corporate and Other Business Enterprises by Chester Rohrlick, Mark R. Lee, Leonard Gross, & Derryl L. Meyers

Available at KF1355.R6 2000
This one-volume treatise walks readers through forming various business entities—including sole proprietorships, partnerships, LLCs, and closely held corporations. Especially helpful for practitioners setting up new businesses or advising startups.

Partnerships, Joint Ventures, and Strategic Alliances

Available via Lexis+
Provides legal and strategic insight into structuring and negotiating collaborative business arrangements. Topics include fiduciary duties, tax implications, exit strategies, and entity selection—plus sample clauses and expert commentary.

Restatement of the Law – Agency

Available via Westlaw Precision
Published by the American Law Institute, this restatement provides a comprehensive look at agency law as it applies to employment, corporate officers, real estate agents, and more. Includes illustrative examples and authoritative commentary.

Business Organizations Law by James D. Cox & Thomas L. Hazen

Available via West Academic Study Aids
An accessible and concept-driven introduction to corporate law, covering fiduciary duties, governance structures, LLCs, and benefit corporations. Includes updates reflecting the Dodd-Frank Act and JOBS Act.

Examples & Explanations for Agency, Partnerships, and LLCs by Daniel S. Kleinberger

Available at KF1345.Z9 K6 2017
An excellent resource for mastering doctrinal fundamentals with hypotheticals and clear explanations. Especially useful for students in Business Associations or preparing for exams.

Understanding Corporate Law by Arthur R. Pinto & Douglas M. Branson

Available at KF1414.P56 2004
Offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of corporate law doctrine, policy, and trends. This title provides comparative insights across jurisdictions and includes recent developments in Delaware and federal law.

Survival Guide to Bankruptcy for In-House Counsel: The Essentials When Bankruptcy or Related Litigation Threatens Your Company by American Bankruptcy Institute

Available via Bloomberg

This guide provided by American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) is a sharp, business‑focused primer designed specifically for in‑house counsel and corporate leadership facing potential bankruptcy or related litigation from counterparties such as customers, suppliers, or contract partners.

Lessons in Corporate Finance: Value Creation with Currency Derivatives in Global Capital Markets by Wiley Press

Available via Bloomberg

Wiley Press offers law students and practitioners a practical framework for understanding how multinational corporations use FX derivatives to optimize value, manage risk, and support strategic transactions.

 

District of Columbia

District of Columbia Practice Manual, Chapter on Business Organizations 

Available via D.C. Bar website

Published by the D.C. Bar, this practice manual offers practical guidance on business organization issues in the District, written by local practitioners. It’s particularly useful for solo and small firm attorneys navigating corporate formation and governance.

 

Maryland

Maryland & DC Laws Governing Business Entities Annotated 

Available via Lexis+

A single-volume reference with annotated statutes, selected case summaries, and relevant court rules. Designed for both practitioners and in-house counsel dealing with Maryland business entity law.

Maryland Corporation Law by James J. Hanks

Available at KFM1410.H36 1990

This is the go-to authoritative resource for corporate practitioners in Maryland. It provides a detailed and practical discussion of Maryland’s corporate statutes and case law, including mergers, fiduciary duties, and shareholder issues.

Maryland Limited Liability Company Forms and Practice Manual by Robert M. Ercole

Available at KFM1407.A65 M37

This resource provides annotated forms and procedural guidance for forming and managing LLCs under Maryland law. Ideal for attorneys handling entity formation, restructuring, or governance matters.

 

Virginia

Michie’s Jurisprudence: Corporations 

Available via Lexis+

Part of the Michie’s Virginia Jurisprudence series, this multi-volume treatise offers in-depth commentary on Virginia corporation law, including formation, governance, shareholder rights, and dissolution. Frequently cited by Virginia courts.

Virginia Corporations Form Finder

Available via Westlaw Precision

This volume includes forms and guidance for forming and operating business entities under Virginia law. It covers corporations, LLCs, partnerships, and includes commentary on applicable statutes and practice considerations.

The Virginia Limited Liability Company: Forms and Practice Manual

Available via Virginia CLE

This manual provides forms, checklists, and practical commentary on the formation and operation of LLCs under Virginia law. A widely used reference among Virginia business attorneys, especially for closely held and start-up businesses.

Virginia Practice Series: Business Entities by Lee A. Handford & William R. Waddell

Available via Thomson Reuters

This treatise delivers detailed, practice-oriented analysis of Virginia business entity law. It covers statutory requirements, case law developments, and includes drafting guidance, making it a comprehensive reference for transactional and general business counsel.