WCL users have access to all databases available from the University Library. Databases are available by accessing the University Library homepage at http://american.edu/library

Choosing Search Databases retrieves a list of all databases available at the University Library. Users can narrow down the list by choosing from the alphabet at the top of the list.

Users can also search for databases using the search bar at the top of the database list

Databases can also be browsed by subject or vendor 

Journals are searchable in the library catalog. 

From the main University Library page choose "Find Journals"

You can search for the name of a journal (1), or browse for journals by category (2)

A list of journals based on your search will populate

You can view the journal by choosing the journal's title (1) the "Available Online" option (2) or "View Journal Contents" (3)

A list of databases where the journal is accessible will populate (1) or you can find locations for the print journal (if available) at the University Library (2)

Non-legal articles are available from a number of sources at the AU library. Articles can be found by searching the library catalog or by using the databases available from the university library.

Click here to learn more about searching articles in the University Library catalog	Click here to learn more about searching articles in the University Library databases

Catalog Search

The university library catalog allows users to search for articles directly from the catalog.  

Advanced Catalog Search

You also can do an advanced search by choosing "Advanced Search" next to the search bar

Advanced Search allows you to prefilter your search by finding terms in the Title, Subject or doing a Keyword Search

You can still use the facets on the left to narrow search results

Once you have found an article that you would like to search there are two ways to retrieve the full text article. 

1. Go directly to the PDF or Electronic copy of the article

You may be prompted to sign in with your AU Credentials. A PDF of the article will open in a new window. 

2. You can select the article title or "Available Online" to find all databases that have the article. This is helpful for users that prefer certain databases or use databases to save their search results.

You will see a list of databases that give access to the article 

You most likely will be prompted to enter your AU credentials once you have chosen a database to search

AU has a number of databases that index articles.

Articles specific databases can be found on the database list by using the dropdown list for Database Type

Other subject-specific article databases are available from the AU database list

Newspapers are indexed separately from journals at the University library

Finding Newspapers in the Catalog

Use the catalog to search for the name of a newspaper. Be sure to use the dropdown next to the search bar to choose "AU Library Catalog" to specifically search the holdings at AU

Be mindful of the coverage dates printed under the title of the newspaper.

Once you have found the newspaper you are looking for click the title to find out what kind of holdings are available at AU. A list of databases that have the newspaper will show what coverage is available from each database. 

The University library also subscribes to a number of newspaper-specific databases. These can be found by navigating to the database list and choosing "News" from the database type dropdown in the middle

The University library catalog also separately indexes newspaper articles. You can search for specific newspaper articles using the Newspaper Articles search.

This allows you to search for a particular newspaper article title, headline, byline or within the text of the article. This is helpful if you saw an article on the web that is behind a paywall, you can search for the article here and the catalog will give you options for accessing the article through AU's holdings.