LibGuides: Africana Legal Studies Research: Home

Purpose of this Guide

This guide was created to support the research of the students in the WCL Africana Legal Studies Course. These materials are accessible by all members of the WCL community and should be used as a guide for those outside of WCL doing research in the realm of Africana Legal Studies. If you have suggestions or questions about the content here please email kclay@wcl.american.edu

Library Databases to Start Research

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law [HeinOnline]
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade.

Reference Resources

UNESCO General History of Africa
The complete collection is published in eight volumes. All volumes are richly illustrated with maps, charts, figures and diagrams and a selection of black and white photographs. The texts, for the most part, are fully annotated and there is an extensive bibliography and index.

The complete collection is published in eight volumes. All volumes are richly illustrated with maps, charts, figures and diagrams and a selection of black and white photographs. The texts, for the most part, are fully annotated and there is an extensive bibliography and index.

Professor Angi Porter

This guide was curated for Professor Angi Porter for the Africana Legal Studies course taught at American University Washington College of Law. More information on Professor Porter and her work can be found here:

Pence Law Library Guides

Africana Legal Studies Research

Africana Legal Studies Research Consultation

Reference Librarian

Purpose of this Guide

Library Databases to Start Research

Reference Resources

Professor Angi Porter