LibGuides: Intellectual Property Research: Home

Learning more about IP Law

Finding Intellectual Property Materials in LEAGLE

Search the following subject headings

Note: Use any of the above, narrowed by the following: --jurisdiction and —law and legislation

Reference Librarian

Khelani Clay

Email Me

The law of Intellectual Property

Copyrights	Govern the legally enforceable rights of creative and artistic works.
Patents	Established to protect the “progress of science and useful arts” – to promote inventions and discovery of new technologies.
Trademarks	Distinctive symbols, pictures, or words that sellers affix to distinguish and identify the origin of their products and can be granted to distinctive and unique packaging, color combinations, building designs, product styles, and overall presentations that owners have exclusive rights to use.
Trade Secrets	A trade secret is a type of intellectual property in the form of a formula, practice, process, design, instrument, pattern, commercial method, or compilation of information not generally known or reasonably ascertainable by others by which a business can obtain an economic advantage over competitors or customers.

Starting your Research

Mastering Intellectual Property by George W. Kuney; Donna C. Looper
Call Number: KF2979 .K86 2009
ISBN: 9781594603921
Publication Date: 2008
Mastering Intellectual Property is a practical guide to the intricacies of trade secret, patent, copyright, moral rights, trademark, and related fields of intellectual property law.
McCarthy's Desk Encyclopedia of Intellectual Property by J. Thomas McCarthy; Roger E. Schechter; David J. Franklyn
Call Number: GEN | KF2976.4 .M38 2004
ISBN: 1570184011
Publication Date: 2004
Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations, 5th ed. by Stephen McJohn
Call Number: Closed Reserve - Circulation Desk KF2980 .M42 2015
ISBN: 9781454850151
Publication Date: 2015
Using proven Examples & Explanations pedagogy, this comprehensive study guide provides students with a short account of the law, followed by a variety of concrete Examples & Explanations that help reinforce and give substance to the key rules and concepts in intellectual property law.
Intellectual Property, Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell by Arthur R. Miller; Michael H. Davis
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634599023
Publication Date: 2018
Authors Michael Davis and famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller provide authoritative coverage on the foundations of patents, trademarks, and copyright laws. Authoritative treatment of all relevant doctrines and the latest statutory and judicial changes. Text further addresses relevant torts, property, antitrust, regulatory, and federalism intersections with intellectual property law.
Principles of Intellectual Property Law by Gary Myers
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634607599
Publication Date: 2017
Intellectual property has helped define our culture, our economy, and our lifestyle. This book provides a comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, and the right of publicity.
Intellectual Property: The Law of Copyrights, Patents & Trademarks [Hornbook on Intellectual Property] by Roger E. Schechter; John R. Thomas
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314065995
Publication Date: 2003
This work provides a comprehensive treatment of all three major branches of intellectual property law, surveying basic principles and emerging issues. The book summarizes what is clear, identifies what is unsettled, and offers concise views on how some open issues might be sensibly resolved.
Intellectual Property Law by Jay Dratler; Stephen M. McJohn
Call Number: Available on LexisAdvance
ISBN: 9781588520548
Publication Date: 1991-
This four-volume treatise covers all major fields of intellectual property. An introductory chapter outlines and compares the various fields of intellectual property law, analyzing their purposes, underlying policies and important differences, as well as their treatment by the courts.
Fundamentals of US Intellectual Property Law Copyright 3e Revised by Sheldon Halpern
Call Number: 2nd Floor General Collection - KF2979 .H357 2011
ISBN: 9789041133427
Publication Date: 2011-
This completely revised and up to date Second Edition of this well received work offers in one volume a comprehensive review of United States copyright, patent, and trademark laws.
Handbook of Intellectual Property Claims and Remedies by Patrick J. Flinn
Call Number: Available from Westlaw
ISBN: 9780735511255
Publication Date: 1999
Handbook of Intellectual Property Claims and Remedies is the first single-volume treatise to focus exclusively on the substantive law governing remedies and strategies for obtaining them in intellectual property litigation.
Idea Rights by Howard C. Anawalt
Call Number: 2nd Floor General Collection - KF2979 .A745 2011
ISBN: 9781594603136
Publication Date: 2011
Idea Rights presents a concise and accurate view of United States intellectual property law for the interested general reader, for attorneys, and for classes that introduce or otherwise cover the material.
The Essential Guide to Intellectual Property by Aram Sinnreich
ISBN: 9780300245431
Publication Date: 2019
A broad introduction to the changing roles of intellectual property within society Intellectual property is one of the most confusing--and widely used--dimensions of the law.
Cyberlaw by Jay Dratler; Stephen M. McJohn
ISBN: 1588520897
Publication Date: 2023-04-28
The definitive guide to the revolution in copyright law brought about by the need to protect against piracy and unauthorized copying on the Internet.
Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Laws by Bureau of National Affairs
Call Number: KF 3091.9 .P37
Publication Date: 1984

Intellectual Property Databases @ Pence

HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection This link opens in a new window
With millions of pages of legislative histories, treatises, documents, classics, and more relating to copyrights, patents, and trademarks, this collection allows researchers to search across all intellectual property law materials in one database. Notable titles include: Legislative History of the 1909 Copyright Act (1976), Kamenstein Legislative History Project: A Compendium and Analytical Index of Materials Leading to the Copyright Act of 1976, and William Robinson's Law of Patents for Useful Inventions. This library also features CFR Title 37, U.S. Code Titles 17 & 35, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, and more!

Intellectual Property Resources on Databases

International Intellectual Property Agreements and Resources

Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS)
The prevailing international agreement that sets forth minimum standards of protection for WTO Members governing several areas of intellectual property. Effective - Jan. 1, 1995.
TRIPS Overview
General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (including Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property)
33 ILM 81
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library
LexisNexis: U.S. Treaties
WTO & GATT Research Guide

Pence Law Library Guides

Intellectual Property Research: Home

Intellectual Property Research

Learning more about IP Law

Finding Intellectual Property Materials in LEAGLE

Reference Librarian

The law of Intellectual Property

Starting your Research

Intellectual Property Databases @ Pence

Intellectual Property Resources on Databases

International Intellectual Property Agreements and Resources

Online IP Resoures/Blogs