LibGuides: Summer Research Resources: Accessing Study Aids & Databases

Accessing Study Aids and Databases

The law library subscribes to nearly 400 databases for the AUWCL community. Below is a short list of some of the most widely-used databases. Consult the A-Z databases list for a comprehensive list of databases and websites and narrow by subject and/or database type.

Do you need to use a study aid or one of the library’s databases? Follow these steps every time you need to consult any library database.

From the library’s homepage, go to our A-Z databases list and select the first letter of the database you want to use. Scroll down to the database and click on the link. You’ll be prompted to login through our proxy server with your AU username and password. Once you’re on the site, you can search for series or specific titles. On some sites like Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids and West Academic Study Aids, you may also be able to personalize your account with your own username and password so that you can save materials to your bookshelf, highlight, etc.

But even if you set up a personalized account, you must access the site through our A-Z databases list. It’s a two-step authentication process.

Pence Law Library Databases

Study Aids

Quimbee This link opens in a new window
Collection of study aids for law students, including topical course tutorials with quizzes, lectures, case briefs, an outlining tool and more.

To sign up, please follow the instructions in the email you received from your
school's plan manager.
West Academic Online Study Aids This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 470 study aids including case briefs, outlines, overviews and exam prep titles.
Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
The Aspen Learning Library (formerly Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library) includes over 200 study aids including the following:
Academic Success
Casenote Legal Briefs
Emanuel CrunchTime
Emanuel Law Outlines
Examples & Explanations
Friedmans Practice Series
Glannon Guides
Inside Series
Jumpstart Series

Legislative History Research

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use database of compiled federal legislative histories, both current and historic.

Administrative/Regulatory Research

ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Regulatory Insight provides researchers with workflow solutions to facilitate research tasks associated with administrative law. As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2014 organized by federal statute and executive order.

Regulatory Insight creates regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly workspace similar to the workspace provided in Legislative Insight. "Search within" functionality and the ability to limit by content type (e.g. notices, proposed rules, final rules) are available through the filters.

Articles

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Alternative remote access link.
HeinOnline is a source for traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, and reports and other documents of international organizations. The database includes more than 100 million pages of materials in an online, fully searchable, image-based format. Notably, it includes a comprehensive collection of searchable full-text PDF (or text) images of major law journal articles, including back issues. Check online table of contents for coverage of specific journal titles; new titles are added regularly. Also includes searchable pre-1981 issues of the Federal Register. New volumes are added regularly.
Alternative remote access link.

Newspapers

News & Newspapers @ Pence Law Library
by Khelani Clay Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 289 views this year

Main Campus Resources (Non-Legal Research)

For non-legal research, consult main campus resources:

A-Z Databases List
- Narrow by subject or database type
Find Journals
- Search by journal title or subject

Pence Law Library Guides

Summer Research Resources