LibGuides: Study Aids @ Pence: Criminal Law

Casebook Supplements

High Court Summaries on Criminal Law (Keyed to Kadish, Schulhofer, and Barkow) by Publishers Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9781640209251
Publication Date: 2018
High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
Legalines on Criminal Law, Keyed to Kadish by Publishers Editorial Staff
ISBN: 0314291288
Publication Date: 2014
Each case brief includes an explanation of the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and judge's rationale. This title includes cases about the process of establishing guilt, criminal punishment, the substantive criminal law, rape, homicide, the significance of resulting harm, group criminality, justification and excuse, and theft.

Practice Questions

Burkoff and Burkoff's Exam Pro Objective on Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff; Nancy M. Burkoff
ISBN: 9780314232960
Publication Date: 2012
This study aid contains more than 200 multiple-choice questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which are mixed together in practice exams covering multiple topics. Each question is accompanied by a detailed and thorough explanation of what is the correct answer and what is not.
The Glannon Guide to Griminal Law: Learning Criminal Law through Multiple-choice Questions and Analysis by Laurie L. Levenson
Call Number: 1st Floor Reserve | KF9219.85 .L477 2009
ISBN: 9780735579552
Publication Date: 2009
Criminal Law: Examples & Explanations by Richard G. Singer; John Q. La Fond
Call Number: Closed Reserve | KF9219.85 .S58 2013
ISBN: 9781454815532
Publication Date: 2013
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.
Acing Criminal Law by John Burkoff
ISBN: 9781683288084
Publication Date: 2017
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams.
Quick Review of Criminal Law by Steve Friedland
ISBN: 9781634594431
Publication Date: 2018
Sum and Substance Quick Review is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Criminal Law in a Nutshell by Arnold H. Loewy
ISBN: 9780314194961
Publication Date: 2009
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.

Understanding Criminal Law

Criminal Law by Wayne LaFave
ISBN: 9781683288817
Publication Date: 2017
Major emphasis is placed on the basic premises of criminal law, including its sources and general limitations. This Hornbook provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes, accomplice, and liability. Attention is also given to subjects such as causation, insanity, and conspiracy.
Principles of Criminal Law by Wayne LaFave
ISBN: 9781683285359
Publication Date: 2017
The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Jumpstart Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff
Call Number: Closed Reserve | KF9219.85 .B874 2013
ISBN: 9781454823797
Publication Date: 2013
Jumpstart Criminal Law explores the context in which criminal statutes are drafted and enacted and in which criminal trials and appeals take place by considering the relationship between state and federal criminal prosecutions and trials; the difference between criminal offenses and defenses in different jurisdictions; the steps in the criminal justice process; the separate roles of judge and jury in criminal cases, and their significance; "element analysis" in criminal cases and with criminal statutes; the nature of the different types of criminal law defenses; criminal defense ethics; how, when, and why conduct is criminalized; and the role of "mens rea" and "actus reus" in criminal law.
Mastering Criminal Law by Ellen S. Podgor; Peter J. Henning
Call Number: 1st Floor Reserve | KF9219 .P63 2008
ISBN: 1594603375
Publication Date: 2008
Mastering Criminal Law provides a clear and concise consideration of the fundamental structure of a crime, including statutory interpretation and sentencing. It has chapters on the typical crimes covered in most criminal law casebooks, namely homicide, rape, assault and battery, and theft. It extends the study to newer forms of crimes, such as criminal enterprises, and includes chapters on accomplice liability, solicitation, attempt and conspiracy. The book covers the traditional defenses seen in criminal law courses and also examines the concept of what is a defense. Cultural defenses and the right to present a defense are included. Many factual examples come from real-world cases.

Quick criminal law overviews

Loewy's Criminal Law in a Nutshell, 5th by Arnold H. Loewy
ISBN: 0314194967
Publication Date: 2009
Organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Features special defenses and the burden of proof. Covers inchoate and group criminality. Also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law by Joseph Kennedy
ISBN: 9780314287618
Publication Date: 2015
This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Remembering these concepts is made easier by a "forest before the trees" organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader's memory. Bonus chapters offer valuable tips for students on how to succeed in the study of the law.

CALI Lessons

CALI has a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students.

Register for an account using your AU email @ http://www.cali.org/user/register
Authorization Code: AMERICstu4

CALI Lessons on Criminal Law

West Academic Study Aids Subscription

West Academic Study Aids package. This package provides online access to many of the study supplements, including West’s Concise Hornbook Series, the Law Stories Series, and all of the Nutshells.

Unlimited access to ALL available study aids.
Ability to take notes, highlight and “mark up” your study aids.
Ability to create a list of “favorite” study aids for easy access.

More than 20 Criminal Law Study Aids Available

CaseBriefs (Sponsored by BloombergLaw)

Casebriefs is free through Bloomberg Law. Visit Casebriefs and register for a free account using your AU email address.

Casebriefs features Case Briefs keyed to various casebooks, outlines, exam prep questions and videos to supplement your studying.

All products are available online.

Visit: http://www.casebriefs.com to register

Search the Library Catalog

Criminal law -- United States

Audio Lectures

Criminal Law [sound recording] by Charles H. Whitebread
Call Number: 3rd Floor Multimedia Collection | KF9219.3.W44 2005
ISBN: 0314160906
Publication Date: 2006
This is a four hour audio lecture on criminal law.
Law School Legends Audio on Criminal Law by John Burkoff
ISBN: 1634608550
Publication Date: 2016
Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler
ISBN: 0314291334
Publication Date: 2013
This audio CD overviews the sources and nature of criminal law. Examines the theories of punishment, actus reus, mens rea, mistake of fact, and actual and proximate causation. Also addresses various defenses and criminal acts. Sum & Substance Audio CD Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing.

Pence Law Library Guides

Study Aids @ Pence: Criminal Law