LibGuides: Finding Books & Articles @ Pence: Finding Articles

Topical databases

See the Databases webpage (library.wcl.american.edu/resources/topics.cfm) and use the dropdown at the top to select specific topics.

Electronic looseleaf services combine primary (statutes, regulations and judicial and agency decisions) and secondary (analysis, headnotes) materials on a particular topic, offering onestop-research in a topical area, such as securities law. Electronic services from BNA, CCH and RIA (tax) are available.

Paper looseleaf services are shelved in Reserve and on 2nd Floor (search the catalog by keyword or subject or by title to find call numbers) or browse the shelves in a call number range.

Finding Articles in Hard Copy

Search for the title of the journal. Recent journal volumes (generally the past year) are located in the Reserve Room. Bound journals are located in the Periodicals section on the second floor. Journals in both locations are arranged alphabetically by journal title.

Pence Law Library Catalog (LEAGLE) This link opens in a new window
Our online catalog.

Requesting Articles from Interlibrary Loan

You may also request articles through WorldCat. Locate the journal by doing a title search for the journal title. Then request the article using the Borrow from Interlibrary Loan link.

WorldCat (use for WCL interlibrary loans) This link opens in a new window
A union catalog of libraries world-wide. The WCL community may use WorldCat with our interlibrary loan system, ILLiad.

Lexis & Westlaw

These are full text, text-based (not PDF) databases. They are searchable by author, title, and keywords. Search techniques vary by database. They require individual passwords. Please note: LEXIS AND WESTLAW COMBINED CONTAIN ONLY A SMALL FRACTION OF ALL PUBLISHED LEGAL ARTICLES. Make sure to use the indexes described above for thorough research.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text coverage of law, business and news sources, including periodicals.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Use this link to access Westlaw Precision, TWEN, Practical Law, Westlaw Document and Form Builder, Drafting Assistant, Practical Law, ProView, Firm Central, and Monitor Suite.

HeinOnline

Hein has a comprehensive collection of full-text PDF images of major law journal articles, often 3 going back to the first issue of the journal. Note that recent articles (generally, about the last 2 years’ worth) are not available. Hein also includes the U.S. Code, Statues at Large, state session laws, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as a large collection of historical materials.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Alternative remote access link.
HeinOnline is a source for traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, and reports and other documents of international organizations. The database includes more than 100 million pages of materials in an online, fully searchable, image-based format. Notably, it includes a comprehensive collection of searchable full-text PDF (or text) images of major law journal articles, including back issues. Check online table of contents for coverage of specific journal titles; new titles are added regularly. Also includes searchable pre-1981 issues of the Federal Register. New volumes are added regularly.
Alternative remote access link.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals. Subjects covered include criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. About 90% of journals are available through the current issue or volume. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
Alternative remote access link.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals

Update LegalTrac and ILP research by viewing most recent weeks’ issues. Available in HTML, Word, and PDF. Organized by journal title and area of law.

Pence Law Library Guides