All alumni have access to the library during our public hours (M-F 8-8; Sat 9-5). Alumni may also pick up an alumni library card at the circulation desk if they need to check out materials.
If alums are studying for the bar exam or anticipate needing after-hours access to the library for work assignments, etc., alumni can go to main campus to get an AU Alumni One Card. It will then need to take it to the WCL Facilities office in YT05 to get it coded for library access. This will entitle alums to 24/7 access to the law library.
Alumni cards enable graduates to borrow circulating materials from the law library. You may go to the OneCard office at the Mary Graydon Center on main campus to obtain your Alumni OneCard.
WCL’s Pence Law Library is the first law school in the country to offer its alumni access to HeinOnline’s Law Journal database. This database has more than 1,700 law and law-related journals with a broad range of coverage. Alumni can search the database by keyword, article title, author, subject, and/or state or country published. Articles can be downloaded in a searchable PDF format. Alumni access to HeinOnline is available through the CareerLink home page that can be accessed using a personal login and password. To request a CareerLink account, send an e-mail to email@example.com including your full name, date of graduation, degree program, and your primary e-mail address (which will become your CareerLink username). Registration may take up to two business days.
Alumni may use electronic databases and resources anywhere in the library. Wireless access and several computers are available for patrons’ use. Available databases include ProQuest Congressional, BloombergBNA topical materials, and CCH Intelliconnect.
Recent Graduates have access to Lexis & Westlaw for extended periods after graduation.
Starting with May 2017 WCL graduates, access is available to Lexis and Westlaw for 6 months and 18 months respectively.
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Reference librarians are happy to assist graduates with research at their firms and offices to provide assistance with complicated research projects related to legislative history, regulatory issues, international and foreign law, and other topics. To contact a reference librarian, email email@example.com.
WCL alumni are welcome to use the library and its collections the old-fashioned way—by stopping in during public hours:
Please note that these hours may change during the intercession (before and after semesters) and during winter break.
Chat Service is offered during Reference Desk hours, and is available to AU and WCL currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
Privacy: Pence Law Library values confidentiality. We may save a copy of your chat session for research or educational purposes, but will remove all identifying information.